What’s in the box?

July 29, 2006

Redcurrants

I don’t know about you, but every week there’s a little nugget of gold in one of the boxes that really gets me going. Lights my boat, floats my candle, makes me do a little jig around the kitchen table. This week this little punnet of sparkling jewels caught the eye. Not shy, are they?

I’m not sure yet what to do with them. Their decorative qualities would have full impact sitting pretty on the summit of an aristocratic fruit pavlova. Or they could be cooked down into a ruby-red sauce, the essence of currantness.

Does anyone have a favourite thing to do with redcurrants? I mean in terms of cooking and eating them, although other suggestions are welcome. Maths chick suggests wearing them as Pat Butcher-style earrings. [In gruff Frank Butcher voice] Oh babe, babe, babe, babe…

Currant earrings

9 Responses to “What’s in the box?”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    There’s quite a few redcurrant recipes going around the blogosphere this month… a couple of my favourites are these:

    http://www.nordljus.co.uk/en/index.php?showimage=119 – scroll down past the cold soba noodles…

    Or…

    http://creampuffsinvenice.typepad.com/cream_puffs_in_venice/2006/07/the_colours_of_.html

    Yum, Yum, Yum!

  2. margesimpson Says:

    gunna put mine in the bottom of an almond tart bakewell style or could put them in the top of a sponge pudding ,custard ooooooooooooh yum,tasty on thier own as well as on icecream

  3. Claire Says:

    just ate mine raw trying to decide what to do with them still one punnet left

  4. Kinson Says:

    Keeping it simple:

    1) Cook into a sauce with honey and pour over strawberries, meringue pieces an dice cream.

    2) Onto our home-made muesli for breakfast (no we don’t roll our own oats).

    The only discussion is whether to pick off what’s left of the flower on the end of the berry? The wife does, I can’t be bothered.

  5. tozagurl Says:

    I made mini trifle things out of mine and the boys loved them. Cook berries without water until they’ve started to collapse a bit(just one sort or more than one if you fancy – I had success with raspberries and redcurrants) with enough icing sugar to take the edge off but less than you would add just to eat them on their own coz you will be pouring them over … old sponge (I actually made one just for the trifles but can’t imagine I’ll ever bother again – my cakes are notoriously flat) which adds some extra sweetness. Then top with thick yogurt and (if you can be arsed) toasted flaked almonds and a couple of redcurrants you’ve saved. Put in the fridge for a bit then guzzle.

    My little boy (a big fan of transforming fruit into colourful insects) didn’t even ask for hundreds and thousands so a major result.

  6. gastropunk Says:

    tozagurl, good result – i might try this recipe on maths chick, she always insists on ‘100s and 1000s’ with everything…

  7. Antlia Says:

    Your blog inspired me to come up with a recipe for redcurrants which I’ve finally perfected – make up some lemon jelly with half white wine and half water. When half set , add redcurrants – easy peasy – and looks great if you’ve got some fancy individual moulds. A refreshing desert for after a rich main course.

  8. gastropunk Says:

    antlia, that’s a nice idea. i haven’t made a jelly in years. i can imagine the red berries suspended in the clear yellow jelly having a real visual impact. thanks for the recipe!


  9. Hi. good information on Maqui Berry. I found your pleasant blog while exploring bing. For the previous few days I’ve been trying to find more. Specially anything to do with the diet talk. I’ve heard it all and my sister continues pushing her newfound weight loss craze on me. So I am happy I found you. Bye!


Leave a Reply

