Nut quest

September 9, 2007

It’s Sunday morning and I’m sitting at the kitchen table. An operatic soprano is warbling through the window from somewhere nearby. Maths Chick is going through her old school notes, selecting some to throw away in an attempt to reclaim a few more square centimetres of space in our tiny 1-bed box. We’re always fighting a battle with an encroaching tide of stuff in this place, sometimes I feel we’re the King and Mrs Canute of Muswell Hill.

Anyway, HFW’s latest ‘wild food’ article in the Gruniad has inspired me to go off in search of green hazelnuts today. I don’t really know what I’m looking for, so I’ve ripped out a photo of the wee critters and am off to Hampstead Heath to see what the deal is. They look like tiny sweet corn in the mug shot. I’ll let you know if I find any…

[Monday morning…]

Hazelnuts

Well, that was one of our less fruitful foraging expeditions. As you can see we came back with a measly half-dozen green hazelnuts, half of which turned out to be maggoty or empty on closer inspection. We found plenty of copices of hazel trees, all of which were already stripped bare of their fruit. Which I guess goes to show that you can’t beat a cockney squirrel to his nuts.

Leave a Reply

