Lazy pommes boulanger

September 10, 2007

Lamb and Potatoes

Here’s a tip the next time you’re doing a roast. Slice a few peeled spuds and onions thinly, season well and add some fresh herbs (e.g. sage with pork, rosemary with lamb or chicken). Toss them in a little oil and spread them out in the roasting tray or pan, pour over a small glass of white wine. Cook the joint on a rack above the veggies.

By the time the meat has finished roasting, the spuds and onions have soaked up the fat and juices from the joint and gone gooey and soft on the bottom, crisp and brown on top. A rib-sticking alternative to the traditional roasties.

Gooey potato mush

4 Responses to “Lazy pommes boulanger”

  1. BB's Richard Says:

    Sounds nice, and I wish I’d read this before christening my new Smeg double oven with 5 burner(!) (is it wrong to buy a flat just for the cooker?) with a roast chicken at the weekend. My only issue with this is that it would prevent me from making gravy using the stuff on the bottom of the roasting tin as that’s all now in the no doubt excellent tatties. (no point in roast chicken without good gravy as far as I’m concerned!)

  2. gastropunk Says:

    I’m green with envy over your new Smeg monster cooker. Buying a flat just for the oven is entirely sane and reasonable. Looking forward to taking it for a spin one day… And yes, the problem with this recipe is the lack of grazy, but the spuds are so soft and tasty, they almost act as a substitute sauce…

  3. smeg fridge Says:

    When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. There has to be a way you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

  4. Santos Worm Says:

    If your taking pictures in the sun make sure to buy sunglasses with polarized tinted lenses. My grand daughter got married on a beach and they purchased 17 pairs for the wedding party. Everyones pictures turned out amazing!!! I think we paid $59 each at sandysunglasses.com


Leave a Reply

