Southern Rock

September 15, 2007

Riverford Veg Box

My mum has always sworn by Northern Rock, saying you couldn’t get a safer investment. It’s a family truism that they’re the best folks to take care of your dosh – I inherited a handful of shares (now almost worthless) from my Grandad and have always had my saving account with them. I wonder how far our collective faith in this company has been due to its name – ‘Northern’ implying no-nonsense, sensible, honest – ‘Rock’ denoting safe, reliable – rather than any objective judgement of their financial acumen.

So now a pillar of my inherited wisdom has been removed, it’s a good time to celebrate those certainties which are left – of which one is surely the Riverford veg box. If you order it, it will come; and it will be good. A Southern Rock. This week’s small box was particularly pleasing aesthetically – a still-life cornucopia of vegetable matter, including…

  • a bunch of young turnips, with tops
  • a bunch of small, stubby carrots
  • a butternut squash
  • a bag of Maris Peer tatties
  • a bag of onions
  • sweet peppers – two green, one yellow
  • a pointy cabbage

So I could spend all day down my local NR branch, queueing for my savings, or I could stay at home, pull out my most trusted cook books and plan a fitting end for these fine specimens of vegetablehood.

7 Responses to “Southern Rock”

  1. stratfordgirl Says:

    Great photo.

    I think you’re much better off at home. Apparently you can claim compensation from the Financial Sevices Compensation Scheme if it all goes pear-shaped.

  2. Joanna Says:

    Really sorry to hear of your worries. It’s like the wild west. Decades ago, when I lived in Hong Kong, there was a run on a bank, and everyone queued up to get their cash, and then the branches ran out, and then there was a riot. Riots, actually, in quite a lot of different areas. Terrible. I suppose that’s why the Bank of England has stepped in – but it’s hard to know whether or not to trust the politicians. So I’m with you – place your trust in trustworthy people who grow vegetables which have some taste, and which arrive when they say they will.

    Joanna
    joannasfood.blogspot.com

  3. Joanna Says:

    PS you should know that in HK in the 70s there was no safety net … if the bank went bust, you lost all your money. I’ve just been watching C4 news, and you are guaranteed 100% of the first £2,000, and 90% of up to £32,000 …. so you only need to shift your money around if you’ve got a lot of savings … I hope that makes you feel better about staying home to cook – so have a really good Saturday evening / Sunday ….

    Best wishes
    Joanna

  4. gastropunk Says:

    SG and Joanna,
    thanks for the info. i’m pretty relaxed about it at the moment, don’t think NR are just going to fold. nonetheless i finally got into the website yesterday and took out half my savings, just to spread the risk around. its a self-fulfilling prophecy – the more customers panic, the more likely it is the whole thing will collapse.
    it must be terrible to have all your savings dissappear over night – like in 70s Hong Kong – didnt something similar happen in argentina a few years ago – massive devaluation? and the hyperinflation in zimbabwe where inflation is something ridiculous like 10,000%.

  5. stratfordgirl Says:

    Thought you might be interested in this:

    http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/banking/Northern-Rock-Crisis

  6. Mopsa Says:

    I thank Riverford for introducing me to the yummy pointy Hispi cabbage. Now the veg patch is up and running there are a satisfying quantity of my own growing chubbily like a double line of Lucie Attwell characters.

  7. gastropunk Says:

    I’ve never heard of Lucie Attwell before, but Googling her I can see what you mean – that’s some freaky imagination at work…


Leave a Reply

